PVREA Board Members Reelected and Over 1,000 Attend Annual Meeting

Despite Saturday’s weather, the local, not-for-profit and member-owned electric utility Poudre Valley Rural Electric Association saw over 1,000 people at its 77th Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 16 at Embassy Suites in Loveland, Colorado.

The meeting is conducted by the Cooperative’s Board of Directors annually to conduct association business, elect directors, and connect with fellow members.

“Despite the snowy weather, we had a great turnout this year, and are always pleased to see members exercise their democratic right to vote in elections and hear from their board members,” PVREA CEO Jeff Wadsworth noted.

As a member-owned electric cooperative, PVREA is governed by democratic principles and the membership elects Board of Director positions for four-year terms. Three Board of Director positions were up for reelection in 2016: two in Larimer County and one in Weld County. The membership elected incumbents Steven D. Anderson and Thaine J. Michie to serve a four-year term in Larimer County. Incumbent Georglyn L. Diehl has been elected to serve a four-year term in Weld County.

Cooperative members also enjoyed booths from various local non-profit organizations and kids’ activities. Local resident, renowned speaker, climber and PVREA member Jim Davidson also entertained members with his epic tales from Mount Everest and Mount Rainer climbs.

Members also received reports from the Colorado Rural Electric Association and Tri-State Generation and Transmission, the Cooperative’s wholesale power supplier. CEO Jeff Wadsworth gave a report on the Cooperative’s latest efforts in renewable energy, reliability improvements and line upgrades. Board of Directors President Thaine J. Michie reported on the Cooperative’s recent $6 million retirement of capital credits – a record amount for the membership.

The Cooperative’s 2015 Annual Report can be found online here.

Date Posted: 4/16/2016